South River, VA (1-20-17)

Happy belated New Year everyone.

Inauguration Day shut down my office, so my girlfriend and I took a long weekend trip to see her parents down I-81 in the Shenandoah valley. Luckily for me, this means I get to sneak out to do some fishing on the South River in Waynesboro. When I fished on the this river over Thanksgiving Break, I had an absolute pig break off my 5X leader during a lengthy fight. After thinking about losing that fish for two months, I was back and ready for revenge.

The river was running low and clear despite steady rain in the morning. I nymphed all day since there was little to no rising or visible activity. I used a fluffy yarn indicator for a more delicate presentation and tied on a size 18 BWO nymph and a size 16 caddis nymph.

Within 20 minutes of getting out there, I hooked up with a nice fish that ripped down the current and started taking drag. Could it be? Did the fishing gods bless me with another shot at a monster Brown? Not quite, but I did start the day off by landing a beautiful dark 16 inch Rainbow (see below).

I continued fishing up and down the South River, but only managed to hook up with two more small Browns. It’s a great little stretch of water, but it does experience significant pressure. Despite fishing on a Friday, I encountered 8 or 9 other anglers throughout the 2/3 mile stretch near the Invista plant. If you’re fishing the South River try to get out there early or fish on weekdays. Oh well, it was an awesome trip anyways!

img_0136

Leave a Reply

